A NYMPH

in the garden. Tiny, but full of lust for life.
Of course I look in my guide-book to find out her name.
But soon enough I am lost in all the possibilities and details.
I have no flair for recognizing faces of persons too.
Last time I met this gentle person who told me that when he would come upon me after five years he would recognize me immediately.
And I had to admit that if I would meet him next day I probably would not recognize him at all.
I feel sorry for myself in this subject!
Today we enjoyed a heavenly summer day.
I first had to water the containers, then Piet Hein and I had to fix a leg of the bench, which had collapsed. But at the end of the day all was great again.
I, of course, made a risotto with mushrooms, and we sat outside and considered life and its vicissitudes. Did you hear a sigh?

My haiku:

Unaware of my
Attention the nymph ate her
Meal quietly soundless

And the proverb:

Measure yourself by your own foot.

Hor. Ep. I .7.98.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.