The Rain Passes Through

First, many thanks, and also many apologies, to those kind enough to leave comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's horse. They have meant the world to me today. I had hoped to spend a bit of time tonight browsing journals but when the rain passed through not long after I got back from the office, I stood you all up for a cycle. It had already been a long day at the computer. I had to fiddle about a bit to get the lights back on the bike - half suspecting I would be waylaid by a sunset - so it was 8.30pm by the time I left and turned 10pm when I returned. Amazingly, it was still bright enough to get away without lights. It's caught me a bit by surprise that the longest day is only just 2 weeks away. How did that happen?

As soon as I looked at my first mono conversion of yesterday's Put out to Pasture I was aware that the image was a little bit special. And you certainly seemed to recognise that too. The original photograph was nice but somehow the black and white version had so much more impact, and it spoke out to a lot of people. Before the rain came I did have a think about cycling back out there and seeing if I could find out a bit more about this horse. I'd like to be able to let the owner have a print too. I feel a kind of bond with this magnificent beast. I'll take the opportunity as soon as I can.

Tonight's blip is a bit of an experimental composition. It was hard not to post a rainbow shot in colour, but I rather wanted to emphasise the resonance between the arc of the rainbow and the arc of the road. It also illustrates rather nicely how narrow our lanes are up here. This is my route to the Dales. It could be unique in this road almost certainly carries more cycle than vehicular traffic. This is a view looking back towards Ilkley Moor. The prominent copse of trees to be seen at the end of the field is this one, from a different angle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.