Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

The remaining mainline turnouts

While I was solving an electrical problem (I had created) with the auto-reversers, I got going on more turnouts. The kind folks at Tony's Train Exchange - DCC Specialities were super helpful and speedy in helping me find my error.  These 13 turnouts are now installed on their cork roadbed and 1" styrofoam.  I lay out the track plan on the styrofoam, then cut out a block that will hold the turnouts.  Sometimes it is only one turnout, sometimes several.  Then I sit at my work table and install the turnouts. Way easier on my back.   These are then test-fit on the layout - today's blip. Now I need to install the motors on the underside that will turn the switch blades and they are ready to install.

One difference in this railroad from the past efforts - all turnouts will be controlled from the DCC throttle via NCE Switch8 boards.  Just two wires to run and no toggle switches.  I can sit or stand anywhere and operate all the turnouts (60).

Thes 13 turnouts are important as once they are installed and the track connecting them is installed and wired, I can run trains.  Yea.  After all that is what this is all about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.