Flaneur

By NickMog

Snail

Bloody Argos.

I don't shop as such. I just buy new replacements as things wear out. Ideally over the interweb. Things like Converse trainers (Black, size 9).

Yesterday, my Casio watch (and stopwatch and how high is the tide watch) misted up and stopped after that rain. I've had about three of the same watch. Googled and found that Argos had one left. They invited me to reserve online. I took them up on their invitation.

I went to their shop and paid for it (£19.99). The assistant (a real human rather than a computer terminal) said that there "might be a substitution". (???) Queued up behind a succession of people buying children's bikes and, in one case, a children's quad bike (????). Got the watch and it had, indeed, been subject to a substitution. It was still a watch but didn't look anything like the one I wanted. And I would have to learn new buttons...

Had to queue up behind a succession of people returning Children's bikes to get my money back.

So, despite checking online first, I had to waste about 45 minutes of my life because they didn't really have the watch.

Bloody Argos.

And the watch? I found the last one (which had been replaced because the unusual and expensive to replace strap had broken) and fitted it with the newer one's strap. Should have thought of that first, I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.