Friday Foto

By drmackem

Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace

Benji and I have a pretty similar taste in music, our playlists overlap mainly, admittedly he's doesn't like Bob Dylan - but he does recognise the genius there, and he takes a sideways look at me if I play Debbie Harry- but then again that probably wasn't about the music for me in the late 70's/early 80's, but otherwise we can listen, enjoy and appreciate our music together.

Ben's has seen his bass guitar become increasingly broken and beyond reasonable repair and he has a few gigs in the next month, so today was the day that we showed him some money left to him by his Great Grandma and off we set to get a new bass. We surfed the guitar shops in Leeds, with Benji getting a feel for a variety of guitars, (I've got Chilli bass riffs playing on a loop in my head now), then went to consider the options over coffee before making the purchase. He's now playing..... til his fingers bleed.

On the way there and back in the car I put on a Foo Fighters album (an album - how old school is that) Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace - this was out at the time of our first gig trip together (if you exclude the scarring trip to see the Tweenies) and we listened to the album for the first time together then. Four years on, I still love it. I love the title and I leave you a beautiful mellow track from the album Homewhich contains the words of the album title and I think heart breaking reference to Kurt.

One day in about 30 years time I suspect Benji will be taking one of his kids to a guitar shop to buy a guitar and he'll remember today and by then will relate to the words of the song better. Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.