R.I.P. bumblebee ?

Bumblebees literally work until they drop, so when I saw the one on the left hanging motionless on the flower, I thought it had rung down the curtain and joined the choir invisible. It was an ex-bumblebee.
Looking more closely though, I saw one leg feebly moving. The poor thing was just exhausted. My house was only a short way away, so I gently picked her up and she managed to cling on to my folding umbrella. Scuttling indoors, I managed to tip her into a plastic box in the kitchen, and called Mr. Beewatcher to make a spoonful of sugar water while I kept an eye on her.
As he went to do this, there was a noise like a very tiny motorbike revving up, and she suddenly took off and zoomed round the room ! She settled on the window, which I quickly opened and she shot out into the sunshine.
Maybe she was just having a snooze :)

A few more bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.