Sailing by Marvaig

Away from Stornoway at last, leaving the harbour in driving rain, with visibility out to sea very poor. But it brightened and with two reefs in the main we were soon skudding down that coast. There was a period as we passed the Shiants where the wind against tide conspired to produce a nasty short chop of a sea, but after that we were on a fine close haul, rarely falling below 5kts. The best day's sailing by far.
And a bonus! Dolphinses!! Actually there were loads of them but it was my turn on the helm and I was buggered if I was handing it over just to get some photos. I'd never wrest it back off the Cap'n. Hence the uncharacteristically poor schnap.

Into Lochmaddy and after a sumptuous meal of Tesco pizza, it's up to the Hotel to seek out the wifi. And craft beers. OK, McEwans 80/- ... and a couple from one of the other boats have arrived. I've bought a round. Surely they'll buy one back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.