Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Dow Crag - Arete, Chimney and Crack

Fine weather hurrah!  And after a false start at Langdale and a return to the hut for a cuppa, S and I went to Dow Crag and began climbing.  However, after we were both up the first pitch, S consulted the FRRC guide book to check where the route went next and found that it was impossible to follow.  There are no photographs, only line drawings, and the description of the route could have applied to several areas of rock.  Therefore, rather than end up somewhere where we didn't want to be, we came down... which meant that I abseiled down properly, by myself rather than being lowered by S.  I enjoyed the climb, and was pleased to have done the abseil in a reasonable manner too.

I'm pretty sure that I took this photo from the bottom of the climb, because it was quite a steep walk up from the car and included a big area of (horrible) scree.

The problem S has at the moment is finding climbs that I'm capable of, without walking miles to get there with a heavy pack which would pre-tire me, but which preferably he hasn't climbed before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.