JUST FAT?

Apologies for the awful picture.

Quite a while back now I noticed my face swell at the sides of my jaw up to my ears (left side as your looking at this pic).  Done some googling and realised it was the perotid glands on both sides.  I have seen 2 different doctors 3 times about this to be told it is just fat.  

Even telling them this swelling appeared over night, I was told no, it's just fat.  I have not posted many 'selfies' as I am really aware that my face looks fat but I knew it wasn't...

So tonight my neck felt kind of funny so I started rubbing it to find this golf ball sized lump at one side (right side as your looking at the picture), you can see it's dragging my mouth down too.

Poned nhs 24 and it was still swelling as I was talking to them so I was told to go in to be seen by a Doctor.

Off I went and what do you know! Yup, it IS my perotid glands on both sides.  Probably caused by stones blocking the saliva ducts - just like I thought and probably caused by being on Nortriptyline (for fibromyalgia) as it has a side effect of a dry mouth which I have - which I also thought.

So Have to see my own doctor this week and will be referred up to ent for further investigation.

It's a pretty sad day when you diagnose yourself 2 years before 2 doctors and only because it swelled up worse than before.

So angry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.