Hoy Kirk Concert

I went across to the Hoy Kirk today to hear the virtuosic wind players of the SCO in a richly varied programme of music mainly from the Baroque and Classical eras and concluding with Beethoven's early work for Wind Octet.

MOZART Divertimento in B flat K. 270
POULENC Sonata for two clarinets
HANDEL Two Arias for Wind Band
HWV 410, 411
BEETHOVEN Octet Op. 103

The concert was peppered with the deftly composed and quirkily melodic work by the twentieth century Frenchman, Francis Poulenc.  This concert was dedicated to the memory of Jack Rendall.

I mainly went across to cover the absence of CMC who was busy at HQ.  I went across to get ready a welcoming tea for the musicians (before and after) rehearsal.  Also gave them soup / sandwiches / bannocks etc after the performance was completed.  However there was a major panic in the kitchen when CMC’s mother realised there was no milk.  She made me go to the Kirk front door (only signal) and phone CMC’s sister who dashed up from Garson with milk.  CMC’s sister then stayed and helped in the kitchen.  In a deft pincer movement she took great delight telling all of the ladies in the kitchen (and texting CMC) that I had carried over 4 pints from Stromness with me in a bag and I’d never noticed.  I can  never relax.   Beethoven eh - and to think I thought culture was only found in Petri dishes.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.