Midsummer Mayfly

May for me was a washout as far as togging was concerned. I was miserable because I'd missed, amongst many other things, the mayflies.

I finally had a day to myself today. I spent the afternoon at Hunsdon Mead. It is a registered Common and is one of the last remaining sites in Essex or Hertfordshire to still be managed on the ancient Lammas system of hay making followed by winter grazing.

It is bug heaven. Clouds of beautiful demoiselles fluttered amongst the grasses and wildflowers. Butterflies flitted and all sorts of bees and flies flew up as I approached. 

I haven't missed the mayflies after all, even though it is mid-June.. Swarms of these ephemeral insects were bouncing up and down above the mead.

I had thoughts of shooting the sunset on the longest day of the year but the sky was cloudy. Just before nine-thirty the cloud broke and the sky was suffused with colour. :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.