wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

A sting in the tail

Some viewers may find this image a little gross.  These are tree bees Bombus Hypnorum (tree bee) mating on my patio rose. Nothing like a bit of nature in the raw.  It took an absolute age for one of the two competing males to manoeuvre into the correct position leaving the other disappointed (I guess).  Fact is the mating male's job is done and will now perish.  I'll spare you the details why. Tree bees are a recent coloniser from the near continent.  These bees could well be from the colony that has set up residence under my neighbours house tile cladding. BTW the patio rose was give to us by my neighbour last year as a silver wedding present. I'm no good with roses so it is a bonus to have it looking so good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.