Hello...

By Blackbored

Coalition

Okay so I live in the Middle East (and that's painfully obvious when I want to drop into a homely little pub, post-work at the end of a hard week, which simply doesn't exist here) but it never ceases to amaze me how western everything is here. The skin whitening creams that adorn the shelves of Boots are a subtle nod to the differing needs of the local clientele. And the predominance of Manolo, Christian & Jimmy suggest an affluence a little removed from my everyday. But the big brands have stomped their way into this corner of the world, as expected. The golden arches greet you at every petrol station, the high street brands are in every mall and I can even buy Irn-Bru from a local Park&Shop. Far from home, yet surrounded by familiarity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.