Floral Fantastique

Another day of reviews - I'm not sure I'm sane any more, they are tedious as hell but useful to do as the improve the quality of code we release to production. I took a few pictures on my way home, and in the end selected this one - a wild opium poppy. Quite a few local farmers grow them on a commercial scale for opium and derivatives for the UK health care market and as a result the plants grow like weeds all over the place - this one is by the station in the village.

Apparently Hector Berlioz used opium for inspiration, subsequently producing his Symphonie Fantastique, hence today's title. I've used opiates after my dental surgery and all I can say is that it's not what it's cracked up to be... though I wasn't in any pain...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.