Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Pellucid Fly - Volucella pellucens

This is quite an unusual fly, much larger than the bluebottle type flies. It flies a bit like a hoverfly and so that was my first plan of attack in the identification process and I was right.

This hoverfly is another one of those insects that makes use of social bees and wasps nests, although I could not find any more information other than a mention.

Today's Indonesian difference discussion is sun tan attitudes. I always find it highly amusing how people, mostly women, are never happy with what nature has given them. I could make a list, but I don't want to take all day! I will just deal with skin colouration here.

Western women want to be brown. My first wife is a typical example, at the slightest hint of sun, she will be in her garden soaking up what rays the sun has to offer, in order to colour her skin brown. She knows and accepts the skin cancer risks, such is her desire to be brown.

Conversely, Asian women want to be white. They carry parasols or even simply hold up a bag or sheet of card to protect their skin from the suns rays. They spend a fortune on skin creams that supposedly lighten your skins colour.

It is all quite ridiculous and is a never ending source of amusement for me.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.