Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Down but not out

Squiddies took a battering in the April Super Storm.  It has been roped off since then and I suspect it's days will be numbered.  The jetty is owned by the motel and I can't see the mad woman who owns it having the cash or willingness to do it up.  So a shot here for prosperity.

Bryan had a good send off today.  I think he would be very proud of his son who gave a great eulogy.  I do so admire someone who can do that.  When my dad died all I could do was blubber.  I certainly wouldn't have the nous to do what he did.  Bryan was a long serving member of the Labor party and there was an elderly chap sitting behind me who came in first on the responses but spoke in a slow measured pace.  He was a line behind the Priest in the Lord's Prayer he was so measured, it sounded like feedback and did bring a smile to my face.  I was later told he was an old Union boss.

The Priest who gave the service did say one thing that has stayed with me and got me thinking.  It was that we should show mercy.  In the news at the moment, a woman and her children are seeking Government assistance to return to Australia from Syria where her "terrorist" husband reportedly has been  killed.  At first I thought shame on you for taking your children into that situation and I don't want my tax payers money spent on you.  You know, I think that is wrong.  The children had no say in that decision and I think they should be helped.  They would be much better off out of that situation and here although I suspect they will be carrying deep scars.  The church where  the service took place was St Canice's which co-incidentally was where Mum and Dad were married. The Priest co-incidentally was our Parish Priest for a while in the late 60's before he went on to greater things.  He also baptised my two brothers.  It's a small world isn't it.

PS  St Anthony has helped me find my two extra batteries.  Bag is packed.  Huzzah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.