0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Dr. T

I studied Chemistry at University up until post-graduate level so the topic of 'Entropy' is very familiar to me.

From a scientific point of view, a very crude definition would be to think of entropy as 'an increase in disorganisation', or the way I like to think of it: the number of ways a system can arrange itself. I have to admit, it's a difficult concept to grasp initially but one which is fundamental to everything.

Since the example of a gas is commonly used to explain entropy (gas in half a box = low entropy, gas in full box = high entropy), I thought the image above would be one suitable for the challenge - think of the little polystyrene bits as gas molecules.

Class dismissed ;)

Thanks for looking/comments/shares/favs!

Our Daily Challenge (ODC): ENTROPY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.