Cold Fell Stone Circle.

The weather was too bad to see the sunrise or sunset on the summer Solstice and all week I have been thinking about it. Tonight we had a drive over to look at the Cold Fell Stone Circle, with the Ennerdale Hills in the  background. When I got home I looked the circle up as I knew it wasn't ancient. This is what I found.

 When Harry Sharpe was a young man he lived at Haggett Farm, Cold Fell, with his parents and siblings; he knew Dr Quynne, who was a doctor at Frizington, they both had interests in archaeology.
He pointed out various stones in different stone walls round about. Some time in the 1920s Harry was paid the sum of 30 shillings to dig these stones out of their places and move them up on to Cold Fell with two horses, where he set them up under Dr Quynne’s supervision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.