Historic photo - 1949

Today we had a surprise visit by my cousin and her husband - we had a lovely conversation,  tea and biscuits, but time ran out all too quick, so we will have continue our get-together at lunch, scheduled for Tuesday  ~ we still have so much to recapture and talk about!
My cousin is featured on far right, with me at age 2 y/old on her lap.
It seems I was a lovely toddler, an no doubt spoitl!
From left is a Hollander - Frans de Vries - who met with an untimely death when a taxi swung in front of his vehicle, years later  . . . . then there is Tona, a Downie (cousin) lovingly holding his kitty - cat,  and beside him is my brother, André, a pilot who met his untimely death in 1988, being 46 years of age.
Wow, life has its moments - and so we all have to cope whatever lies ahead - luckily unbeknown to all of us.
Grace and mercy prevails when we can look back and remember - the good and the not so good times - which I am sure we all have.
One truth remains: we all LIVE  life, we all have our OWN perceptions, and when that final day arrives, we have to stand in front of Reality - the final reality -  and here, no mask will save, no story will count - attitude will be brought into consideration, but in the end it will be about acceptance. The paying of debt.
We all fall short of grace, but with that there  is no problem when a person accepts the omnipotence and grace of the almighty, creator, of heavens and earth.

And so, I rest my case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.