Calamity Jane or CJ for Short

Finally thought of a name for the resident raccoon. Today she came by around noon again looking for her favorite, Alpo dog food. She went boldly up on the deck railing and was gathering in the food and chomping down on it when I spotted her through the kitchen window. I took a few photos and then decided to see how bold she would be if I went out on the deck to take her photograph. I opened the curtain (closed to keep out the heat) and slid open the sliding door. She looked up. I slid open the screen and stepped out on the deck. She went over but as she went down, she stopped to think it over. She looked at me and eventually started to climb back up on the railing. When she did that I moved closer and she decided to get out of there. Down and off she went. I wonder if she has babies. Hmmm... I haven't seen any. The extra photo was a close second to this one. I took it as she was climbing back up on the railing.

Seeing the coon up close from the front, It was obvious that she was female. So I began to think of bandit names for her. First I thought of Thelma or Louise, but they really weren't bandits. So I did a bit of goggling and came up with Calamity Jane. So meet our big bandit. And, yes, I am being careful and not getting too close to her. She is totally cute and probably not so sweet up close and personal. So I'm keeping my distance and trying to discourage her from deck food raids. That's not easy since I feed the crows dog food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.