Pastuso

Frankie Ruiz - La Cura

The wonderful days just keep coming. Had a nice day hanging out with a new friend for lunch, then went shopping and looked over headphones again. Funny thing, shopping.

Then the family got together for a dinner out at Pastuso. A Peruvian restaurant in the middle of the city. Lovely cocktails and food. It appears, after discussing with my foodie friends, that a lot of Melbourne restaurants are based on looks rather than the food itself. Don't get me wrong, the food is great as far as I'm concerned but it appears on principle that the looks are first. I'm of similar character also but we all have our own set of criteria of what is determined as "good".

Anyway, the night was fun and it just so happens that my Peruvian neighbor / friend in Japan was also having a dinner party in Japan. Oh I wish I was able to be in two places at once with all due respect to my awesome present company. The big difference I think between a dining experience and eating great food is the connection an establishment has with its customers. As much as I loved Pastuso, I really yearned for the love of homely food and passion. My family cooks in this way and despite Pastuso being really awesome, it was sterile in comparison to having a great friend's "personal" cooking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.