... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Keane at the O2 Academy, Brixton

Back blip.
Last night I went to see Keane at the Brixton Academy O2 Academy, Brixton.
I had an amazing time: Keane were wonderful, charming, and the show was great. They played for about two hours, playing a lot of their new album and also many of their older hits. The atmosphere was great: everyone sang and danced in the livelier songs, and the band seemed so down-to-earth and human and really connected with the crowd.
In my blip on 29th April I suggested that the gosling that had disappeared ("number 9") might just have gone off to tour with Keane, but there was, alas, no sign of it front of house; it could be that the gosling was just contributing subtly backstage... The band did thank all of the crew for making the show what it was, so if it is backstage, at least its work is appreciated...

I'd never been to the Academy before, and it was slightly gritty. I bottled out of taking my proper camera at the last minute (and am very glad, in hindsight, that I didn't have it and its bag with me), but my father kindly allowed me to borrow his more pocketable Canon G9, which promptly ran out of batteries, but I'm glad I got a few shots (8) to remind myself of the atmosphere and experience.

A spectacular evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.