Let There Be Light

By solli

The Procession

of the Feast of St. Anthony

This weekend my little town is celebrating an early Feast of St. Anthony, who is the patron saint of people who lose things. I lose plenty of things, including my keys, camera lens and my memory, so I decided that I needed to join the procession which began after the 12:00 Mass.

Father Jim and two visiting priests led it off, along with the Knights of Columbus whose musicians provided the music along the way. St. Anthony was hoisted up and carried throughout the streets; people put money on his sash, it's all very meaningful and festive, particularly for the Italians who began this tradition in 1919. It was a first for me.

St. Anthony of Padua is purported to have performed many miracles, including getting fish to pop their heads out of the water to listen to his sermons. He also won a bet with a local and got a stubborn ass mule to bow at the knees in acknowledgement of the Holy Scripture the saint was holding. The doubting sceptic became a convert on the spot!

I'm working the water gun game at the feast tonight and it will be a miracle if I manage to get parents to part with their money. I'm a novice at type of thing, but I do know how to work a crowd so maybe the miracle will occur.

But I'd really appreciate some blipland help - good thoughts or a few prayers over the next three hours may increase the chances! xo

Postblip: The hour and a half I spent cajoling folks to play the game brought over $400 to the parish. It was wonderful! Thanks for your help and here's a picture of the action!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.