People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Favorite Tree

I knew I would have no time today for any picture-taking, so I dashed out at 7:30 to take this one.

I often marvel at tree forms: why is this one squat and wide, and others tall and slim? I know the explanations are logical and complex, and involve climate, soils, and a slew of other variables. Maybe I'll ask by ecological systems geek friends one day.

On the other hand, I don't enjoy not knowing what's what when discussion turns to human creativity. I was that kid who was not satisfied with ephemeral "artistic experiences"; I wanted to know WHY  I felt the way I did when I experienced art. What was it? The look? The sound? Combination? I believe Koffka (one of the founders of the Gestalt psychology) was right: the whole is different than the sum of its parts. I like to understand that whole. I don't think it makes art any less of an experience for me when I know why.

Side note: "different", not "greater"; Koffka hated that mistranslation, and adamantly claimed perception is NOT an additive process. Different is fun enough. No need for better. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.