If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Ant City.

OK I kno0w they aren't called cities but that is the way I always think of them.  I have always (since childhood) found an ant's nest fascinating.  The tunnels and passages, the chambers full of larvae and pupa.

This particular nest is below a large concrete Ammonite which is in the garden at the Lodge.  Every time I have mown the grass during the last eleven years I have lifted it to mow right up to the edge of the bare earth.  I do this about 5 minutes before I want to mow.  The result frantic action as all the pupae etc are carried down the passages underground.

As soon as this happens I run the mower over and replace the Ammonite.  In all this time I have never been bitten, despite having them running all over my hands.  I know there are species of ants in the UK which do not bite and I assume they must be one pf them.  Alternatively they might just be very patient and understanding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.