Simply Me

By Suze981

There can be only one

You know how much I love castles. I've blipped various castles all across Scotland, but I've never been as far to visit one as today - the Western Highlands of Scotland. I've wanted to visit this castle, Eilean Donan, for years.

And the reason is not really for the castle itself - you know that my particular area of interest is ruins - Eilean Donan was a ruin but was rebuilt in the early 20th Century. It has recreated what life could have looked like inside etc. Snore - I'm so not interested in boring recreations. Give me a ruin, some history and my imagination any day of the week! The reason isn't the stunning location or the amazing views either.

Big geek that I am, the reason I've always wanted to visit Eilean Donan is the film, Highlander. That good old 1986 classic starring Christopher Lambert and Sean Connery (and the various films and TV series that came after). Eilean Donan Castle was the fictional home of the Clan MacLeod - as in Connor MacLeod of the Clan MacLeod. As you can imagine that phrase got said a couple of times today.

Well let's be honest, who doesn't love a story about sword-toting immortal warriors destined to fight throughout the centuries? There can be only one! (That may have been said a couple of times today too).

Anyway, it's been a great way to spend my 34th birthday - a fab day with good company and ice cream!

We're now on the road back home, but can you guess what Wesley and I will be watching tonight??

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.