MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Time and tide wait for no man

I got an e-mail saying yesterday's blip made the spotlight, I am very pleased - I think. I must have missed it during the small hours of the morning. I wonder how long blips are on the spotlight for.
So if I really did make the spotlight thanks to all those people that viewed the blip and a special thanks to those kind enough to comment. Very pleased to get over 200 views.
So today's blip is a pocket watch that belongs to Adam. It was his grandfather's and given to him by his grandmother. He needs to have it serviced so if anyone know a good watch repairer in or near Winchester please let me know.
I always thought that the proverb was nautical in that if a boat misses the tide it is stuck until the next high tide. Apparently 'tide' didn't refer to the rising and falling of the sea but to a period of time. When this phrase was coined tide meant a season, or a time, or a while. The word is still with us in that sense in 'good tidings'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.