Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...There is nothing like bestest friends!

Had a great evening and morning with Peggy Lee - after she battled torrential rains and the crazy NJ drivers to get here last night! We shared a bottle of Petit Syrah and noshed on grilled chicken, fresh arugula salad and a fabulous garlic-scape pesto (which was to DIE for) and got caught up on each other's lives. The visits are always too short, but so much fun. I was going to blip this shot of the two of us, but when I saw this photo, I knew that this was the blip. I've known Peggy for years, back when we were ... ahem ... younger less mature single gals living on the East Side of Manhattan. Now are both less young, married, and living across the globe from each other - but good friendships aren't bound by geography or time, they endure.

This morning, we had a few hours to sit out on the deck, tea in hand, and visit some more. And the hummers and chickadees decided that Peggy needed a complete floor show. At one point, we calculated at least 6 hummers (possible more) and then, when were were dizzy trying to keep track of their erratic high speed chases, the entire chickadee family showed up. I took this quick shot of four of the siblings having a feeding frenzy at the suet feeder. As if they were showing off for Peggy...

My trip to the dentist today was uneventful - just a "simple" tooth cleaning. As if there could be anything simple about having someone root around in your mouth with a sharp, pointy object trying to scrape down to bedrock on your teeth...

Hubs is traveling again this week, so the cats and I are holding down the fort. And the birds. And, the nighttime critters. And the chipmunks. Hm, guess I'm not alone at all, am I?

Thank you so much for the hearts, stars and comments on P-Hummie. Glad you like him, because I guarantee you'll be seeing more of he and his harem. And, by the way, last night a second male hummer showed up - most unusual to have two males in the same territory so will be interesting to see if the second male stays or moves on. I have 5 feeders up already ... and I'm buying sugar in bulk...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.