Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

HOLY MOLY AND THE CRACKERS

Had to go to Newcastle today and when I was ready to go I fed the cats so as to keep them occupied while I made my escape out of the front door. Managed to get out without them following me.

Stood at the bus stop - realised I had forgetten a letter which needed posting. Debated whether to leave it for another day but it was quite urgent so decided to nip back home for it. Bus stop is only around the corner from my house so if I was quick I would probably still catch the bus.

Got in the front door and cats came rushing. Went to get letter - couldn't find it. Hadn't a clue where I had put it. Looked through some paperwork I was dealing with last evening but still no sign of letter. Tried a few other places - no luck. By this time I had missed the bus so decided to take my time in looking but still no sign. Then I spotted it on the coffee table - lying there smugly saying " Made you miss the bus! ". Dratted thing.

Then I had to sneak out again but cats were one step ahead of me this time and it was a bit tricky getting past them.

Newcastle was quite busy and there was a Continental Market near Greys Monument. A wide selection of food was available with wonderful smells of paella, Chinese food. German sausages, posh pies, waffles etc.

My blip shows a busking group which had set up outside a shop nearby - they were called Holy Moly and the Crackers ..........

" Brought together by an eclectic taste in folk music and the kind of enthusiasm that can only be born in the slither of time between last orders and closing time, Holy Moly formed in December 2010. They made a name for themselves playing local gigs. Now they perform up and down the country at venues, weddings, parties, and markets. The band is currently based in Newcastle. They play a lively, moonshine mix of Romani, Americana and contemporary British 'folk' music."

I listened for a while and their music was really good.

While coming home on the bus over The Tyne Bridge I could see the large Olympic Rings which have just been put up today in preparation for the arrival of The Olympic Torch on Friday. They apparently cost one hundred thousand pounds. Money well spent???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.