Wild Scabious

We were awakened at around 4 am by the roar of thunder and a torrential downpour. Soon the lightning was intensely bright and the thunder almost simultaneous as the storm flashed and rumbled overhead. The rain was pelting down in monsoon sheets of water and overflowing the gutters and I feared for the sheds and outhouses flooding. HL was out of bed to close a window or two which she had left open while I gallantly hid under the duvet. Half an hour later, it ended as abruptly as it began. and we drifted back into sleep for a couple of hours.

Bob came in the morning to dismantle the scaffold. Good to see the house again without it,. The barn and half of the house roof have now been completely refurbished and the solar panels reinstalled.

I worked till early afternoon and then did some exciting domestic chores like hoovering. Later I was down in Cromer to post some letters and buy some beer as a thank you for a neighbour who lent me some tools. I crossed paths with an elderly man, bent almost double with an arthritic condition of the spine and almost blind, who was tentatively approaching the road. Since I was going his way, I offered to take his arm and lead him across. I was surprised and moved by the extent of his gratitude for such a small act.

I think HL is getting a taste for the bottle. She had only been home an hour or so and had barely finished her cup of Earl Grey before she was pointing out that the sun was over the yardarm, which necessitated downing a gin and tonic (or two, in her case). 
We had supper in the vegetable garden as we have found it gets the last of the sun. I nearly forgot about the broad beans so we ate them tonight and they were particularly good - especially a variety called Red Epicure which I haven't grown before. 
As the sun was setting we went for a local walk. The wild scabious is growing in the lane near the church and so that is today's photo. I was just wondering why I never seem to manage to take a picture of a flower on a Friday, to join in with "Flower Friday", when I suddenly realised it was Friday. Caramba!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.