School Bell...

I knew the practice existed but had never witnessed it first hand.

At our work we have FlexiTime but it is cordoned by a core time that finishes at 1530 which by rights you shouldn't leave the office by. Clocking out before 1530 results in a small red outline in your timecard.

I was aware that people did hang around the clocking machine waiting for the 1530 digital display to make it's appearance but didn't realize people had it down to such an art. I obviously got caught up in it today and witnessed the assembled conversing on how the clocking machine on the right actual hits 1530 about 2 seconds before the one on the left. What do you know, they were bang on.

I have to admit that I tend to disregard the clocking times and can often be seen jogging away from the building a couple of minutes before time. I'll usually just adjust my time on the system to fix the small red blemish but always make sure to adjust the start of the day by the same amount to keep the total time the same.

I'd say if I ever do get a slap on the wrist for it, hopefully common sense may let me overlook it as it allows me to get back in time to look after Bethany and Ewan so Mrs TFP can get off to work.


Appendum
Just forgot about the guy that I used to work with. In a previous building, we had a clock in machine at the building entrance and one about 100 metres from there and about 5 metres from the department. He had calculated the time it takes to walk from one to the other and thus the amount of time/money made from always using the machine at the entrance in and out instead of clocking out slightly earlier using the one by the department. Hmmmm...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.