Surviving

I managed to drive back home from Mum's in the morning, having stayed on longer than intended due to feeling unwell.  I still don't know what's been wrong, as the antibiotics seem to have made very little difference so far.  All my houseplants have survived my extended absence (just!), including the gerbera I rescued a week or so back from abandonment in a nursery, where it was selling for half-price and looking very neglected.  Picking it up from the sale shelf I gave it a much closer inspection than the nursery staff obviously had, and could see that it had no fewer than six buds at various stages of growth.  I am thrilled to see that it now has two fully-developed blooms and a third is well on its way up through the foliage.  The other three buds are also bigger than they were, but still tightly closed.  I love watching plants respond to care, so perhaps I do have green fingers after all...

Although not feeling anywhere near 100% with my tummy and back pain, I made it along to book club which was a very jolly evening.  From my shortlist, we've voted to read 'A Month in the Country' by J. L. Carr.  The other runners I had picked out were the thriller 'Apple Tree Yard' by Louise Doughty, 'The Dud Avocado' which is a 1950's semi-autobiography by American writer Elaine Dundy, and 'Elizabeth is Missing' - the award-winning debut by Emma Healey.  All very different offerings for the seven of us to choose from.  'A Month in the Country' is a very slim novel, so we'll have time to pick some other books for summer reading before our next meeting after the school holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.