Simply Me

By Suze981

Two icons

There's a wilderness that's sprung up in Holyrood Park of late.

Set against the backdrop of the park, with Salisbury Crags watching over from above, the Scottish Thistle sits majestically. Untamed and fierce, it contrasts with the somewhat manicured grassways. Much the same as the wild meadows that have appeared around the parliament banks.

I'm not sure when these thistles and meadows appeared, but I can't remember seeing them before. It must be the warm, humid weather. This is the first year that I've been struck by how beautiful it all looks.

I took this picture on my morning run. Not a great run, cut considerably short. When I started my legs weren't in the game, when they were, my head had left it. Taking my trainers off at home, my hamstrings were unbearably tight. That can mean only one thing - I need to add to my daily foam roller regime.

I know what you're thinking, because I'm thinking it too. At what point do you just give up? I do know that I'm not there yet though.

Running recovery mileage (From 15 March)
Today's run: 3 miles
Total mileage: 161 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.