The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Wolfsbane

The Monk's Hood was rather nicely backlit this morning as I was getting ready to go to work. I've bee-n waiting for an opportunity for another inflight bumble shot, and this was worth being late for.

This plant has taken several years to get well established in our garden. It was donated to us by Mr & Mrs W when young Matthew arrived. It is after all a rather poisonous plant, deserving its other name of Wolfsbane, and they didn't want a toddler nibbling the leaves in their garden. But it's a great plant for bumblebees, and there's a constant procession of visitors throughout the day. And it's in a part of the garden that is inaccessible to Reg the Tortoise.

I've been absent for a good few days. My absences will become more frequent and prolonged, I'm afraid. I have been spending too much time in front of a computer, both at home and at work - and it has been taking a toll with tiredness, headaches and poor concentration. Something had to give, and I have to do more of what gives me greatest joy and fulfilment - spending time in the fresh air in wild places surrounded by animals and plants. I won't cut back on taking photographs, and I will pop up on Blipfoto when there is something worth sharing. At this rate, the 730 could take a long time to reach, but I will get there eventually. Thanks for bearing with me.

ps If you would like to know more about this plant, then please see Tempus Fugit's brilliantly informative blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.