The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

Robbie goes to ......Kenya

Greta invited me to a charity dinner, which was to raise funds for Robbie to go on a volunteer group working holiday to Masai land in Kenya. He will be helping with teaching in class, building in a school in the slums on the rubbish tips of Nairobi, and playing with the kids, who have nothing to play with.

Donations of footballs, toys and books are going with them. The last time he was there, they were playing with a sock filled with straw. When he gave them a football, they were so excited, it only lasted about 5 minutes before they burst it.

He made £450 tonight, due to the amazing Indian restaurant in Leslie, donating 50% of the charity dinner takings. It made them money and got them a very good "Feel good" factor in the local and indeed wider community, who came to help Robbie and his fund raising efforts.

Good luck to him and I hope he enjoys his experience.


Greta and I had a wonderful evening and I was the designated driver, so I had not excuse for laughing the loudest, but I fear I did most of the night.
Thanks for a great evening Greta and co.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.