Autumn in Suburbia

It was a bright, crisp day, but I was too busy to make much of it. This tree with its rich autumnal colours was really close to home, just round the corner on the way to the local shop. Is it my imagination, or are the colours more intense this year than usual? The range of colour seems different too, from yellow-gold to pure orange to intense red: the gamut seems much more extensive than I remember in previous years.

It would have been the perfect day to go for a spin in the car somewhere away from my usual haunts, just to enjoy the clear, bright sunlight and the rich colours. Instead, I was virtually chained to the computer keyboard all day, just grabbing short breaks now and again to feed the hungry beast. I'd reached a point where I could down tools around 8.30, at which stage I switched on the TV. BBC 4 offered a programme about 'the real story' behind the 1918 armistice, which proved to be fascinating viewing.

Apart from that I downloaded and listened to a fair bit of music, and then as a parting shot placed an order with the Apple Store for a MacBook to replace my trusty old iBook G4. I'd already decided against the new aluminium MacBook because of the lack of a Firewire port, so instead I maxed out the specs on a previous-generation white MacBook. Delivery is shown as 3 working days, so I should have the new baby by the end of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.