The high road

By Travellersjoy

Reflections on Transport

Not Earthdreamers bike on this barge but very handy to carry a bicycle with you if you live on a house boat! This is Shipley Canal and I'm blipping early today as I'm heading back to Ireland and it will be late when I arrive home in West Cork.
One of the many memorable experiences I've had these past few days has been traveling on public transport, something I rarely do at home mainly because their isn't very much and we get used to the car! So I've loved going on the train, the well kept railway stations remind me off my childhood and the commute to school. The idea of arriving somewhere by train, hiking for a few days, then catching a bus home was quite new to me, our bus trip from Kettlewell to Ilkley was very exciting, more like a roller coaster, the driver was in quite a hurry! Even the smallest of villages are accessible by bus, which is quite special and an asset I'm sure to many in the rural community.
I've had a truly wonderful trip to the Yorkshire Dales, fabulous scenery, beautiful walking terrain, stunning flora and fauna, friendly people, the chance to meet fellow blippers PaulFS and muddyshoes and of course the very best of companions to share the experience with, thank you, Earthdreamer. I'll be back!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.