Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Be still my heart

This is most definitely one of Life's Little Moments ... the reason I love nature photography so much. This is the first Downy Woodpecker fledgling (on the left) being fed by Dad this morning as I sat on the deck with my tea. Talk about a totally magical moment. First Dad flew in, and then another male flew in - I was thinking that a small skirmish would break out, but then I realized that the second male looked different. He is actually a little plumper than dad, and his red crest is higher on the head, and less bright in color. What unfolded next was one of those things that I feel incredibly privileged to have been able to see - dad feeding junior. I stood with Big Daddy and took about 100 shots, rapid fire. This one is cropped a bit so that you can see the details. I have put some of the other shots in a special set in Flickr if you'd like to have a look, I just put six in for now, as I suspect there will be more to come. Hope you enjoy them!

I am off to do a presentation to a small group of entrepreneurs this afternoon - a nice change of pace for me. I look forward to catching up with journals later.

Thanks for the hearts and stars on my Attack Hummie yesterday. The hummers were all in fine fettle this morning. The two males seem to have settled into to an uneasy truce, but the females are all squabbling with everyone, so it's pretty much none-stop action out there. They fly through the gazebo while i am sitting there, buzzing past my head, chittering madly at each other. Pretty exciting.

Hope you are all having a magical day. I don't think mine could get much more magical!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.