Fogbound

Woke up this morning to fog. Thick fog. Could only see about 150 m down into Grey Lynn Valley from the deck. No way could I see the harbour and beyond.

After brief contemplation of retreating to a warm bed, I thought of the possibility of a fog affected sunrise photo, and left on a run to the top of Maungawhau. As I go closer, the fog was markedly less dense, and I could see that there were gaps in the clouds above. Heading up Maungawhau, the fog thickened again. The mountain was encased in fog.

On one of the large flat areas near the summit, I saw a number of photographers with heavy duty gear and tripods, looking toward the invisible central city and harbour. After checking out that they really couldn't see anything but fog, I turned and went to the summit and the trig station. 

The young couple in front of me were in the process of him giving her his padded jacket (leaving him in a short sleeved shirt). Through careful adjustment of the white/black balance, I was able to bring out the colours of the couple and leave the shades of grey everywhere else.

As I also went towards the trig station, I saw a bright yellowhammer, and was able to get some good photos (better than the long distance one I had got three months ago); the pick of them is today's extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.