Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Sweet rain!

Finally, some substantial rainfall here. It's been weeks - or months? - and I have felt parched. I've lived in the Pacific Northwest, US, all my life and my body and temperament are used to regular rain. I get twitchy when we go so long without it. The forecast has been calling for a "slight chance of showers" for a while; lately what happens is it gets misty for twenty minutes, then clears up and gets warm. Such a tease. 

I thought it was going to do the same this morning; it did the 20 minute mist, but a while later it began to seriously rain, enough to make some puddles and dampen the earth. 

Rain. I love everything about it: I love the smell of fresh rain after a long dry spell, tart earthy, robust. I love the sound of rain falling on leaves and sidewalks, like a soft lullaby. I love the feel of it on my skin, healing, caressing, I love watching leaves quiver and ripples form in puddles with each raindrop that lands,  

I know this rain will be over soon and in a few days it will be hot again; but I'm going to savor it today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.