My little blue Sollya flowers on Tiny Tuesday

I had a good day preparing the materials for the master document we have to produce for the neighbourhood plan.  It may well be about 80 pages in long with a great deal of well considered text to explain the decisions about what the plan envisages for the next thirty years for our town centre.  I have to brief the graphic designer in the next couple of days and then get all the contributors to finalise the content of their  bit of the project.  

I will be supplying the majority of the pictures which will be used to illustrate the document and I need to find out if any images have yet to be recorded and get them shot pronto. About sixty of my pictures have already been used in various formats for public meetings, newsletters, posters and newspaper articles.  

I finally finished my correspondence after 7pm and went out to the cabin to see if I could get an image for the Tiny Tuesday challenge. Last week I mentioned I would probably try to photograph my delightful Sollya Heterophylla plant, the  bluebell creeper, which is native to Australia. I have had it for about seven years and I am sad to report that it is not doing well this summer. I had thought I had over-wintered it well, but something happened in the spring and it has been very unhappy. Normally I hope to have a glut of little blue flowers, each of which becomes a tiny long thin seed pod which stay hanging down on delicate stems from the plant for months on end.

These two flowers are its only ones at present and are about half an inch in diameter. A couple of others have appeared at odd times but haven't flourished.  Hopefully it is having an 'off' year and will recover. It is one of my favourites.

After taking a couple of pictures in the fading light I spotted a tiny spider hanging by its thread from the ceiling.  I tried to get a still image, but the thread was turning in the breeze.  I picked its thread up with my finger and the spider then sat happily on the pad of my middle finger.  I have added a picture of it to my 'Extra photos' section and then another of it where I placed it on a tiny branch of the Sollya, so you can see how tiny it is; probably just a few millimetres in diameter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.