TimeLapse

By JillyMint

Lace and dewdrops

My pond must be full of emperor nymphs! Ones that get up very early on beautiful mornings!!
This is taken at 7am and she must have started at first light. She flew at 7.45, still with some dewdrops on her wings. Another one had already left.
When they first fly they look like a sycamore seed in reverse - instead of turning her body into the normal horizontal position she takes off vertically and lets the wind take her. I tried to get a shot but lift off has no warning so I missed it - sorry!
I zoomed in tight in this shot so you could see the wings - will add a couple of others into my blipfolio so you can see this magnificent insect in all its glory. Sorry it's the 2nd one this week but I find them fascinating.
Bit tired today so not doing owls tonight - early night and journal catch up.
Oh forgot to tell you. I was photographing the dragonfly in my dressing gown getting soaked by heavy dew. Pixel was mooching around sulking about his wet feet and decided the best place to be was on my back. Result - batty 60 year old in wet gown kneeling by pond with tabby cat sitting on back purring in my ear.... Tried but failed to get mobile out of pocket for photo!
canon 1d; 180mm; f/6.3; ISO400; 1/1600"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.