dark|adapted

By dark

Hope



Today, for the very first time, I voted for someone.

Don't get me wrong - I've voted many times in the past.

But today, for the first time in as long as I can remember, I actually voted for someone.

Not against the other guy. Not as a selection of the lesser of two evils.

But actually for a candidate - a seemingly decent, intelligent human being who seems to care about more than just winning. Seems to care about making this a better place for all of us.

Someone whose persona and policies I can actually believe in. For the first time I can remember.

Someone who apparently believes in the power of words to provide inspiration and hope to a world sorely lacking in both. Someone whose actions, I hope, will follow that same path.

But, I must admit, it wasn't entirely a vote for.

It was also a vote against.

Against the fear, and hate, and lies, and ugly smears that have seemed to be the fuel of U.S politics for these many years. Against the greed, and corruption, and dishonesty that have lived and thrived on that fuel.

So, a vote for change, yes. A vote for a particular candidate - absolutely.

But mostly a vote for hope - the hope that things can, and should be better in this world. That if we at least make an effort, things can and will improve.

A vote, ultimately, for hope itself, because if we don't have that - what do we have?


Nothing.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.