Today's Special

By Connections

Frustration

My Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3 (TZ7 in the UK and Europe), which I purchased lightly used only seven months ago, and have enjoyed using very much, presented me with the interesting LCD pattern above today.

The image preserved on the flash card -- seen here -- doesn't have those colored lines on it.

My online research revealed that others have experienced this problem, and the solution was to replace the LCD. I went to the Panasonic website and tried the Live Chat option, but apparently no one was available. I filled out the online request for a service estimate, which triggered this response: The model number you've entered is not available in the Online Repair system. Please call us at 1-800-211-PANA (7262) for assistance.

I called twice, just to make sure I was hearing the answer correctly: "Service to this number has been discontinued. If this is an emergency, please call 911."

I've just filled out the email form, which said "We will reply within the business day." The form was not user-friendly, especially the pull-down menu of model numbers -- several hundred of them, in random order. I chose "no applicable model number" after two careful scannings of the list.

After my email was successfully sent, the pop-up message said "You should receive a response from a Customer Service Representative within 1-2 business days" and suggested calling the number I had just tried, unsuccessfully, if I needed immediate assistance.

I'll let you know if I get any assistance at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.