Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Olympic torch, High Street, Edinburgh

On Wednesday evening, when I was travelling on a train from London to Edinburgh, the Olympic torch followed its route past my office in Edinburgh. I was really disappointed when I heard that I would miss it due to a commitment down south. What made things worse was that my husband actually joined the parade yesterday as part of the informal cycle cavalcade, as can be seen in this video. He plays a starring role in his bright yellow gilet at 47 seconds.

However... I later discovered that the torch would also be in Edinburgh first thing today, so I bounced out of bed at 06:00am eager to get into town bright and early to secure a spot on the Royal Mile. At 07:00 there was very little competition for space and a few minutes later I enjoyed watching the spectacle while chatting to a lady who works nearby at the law courts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.