Home

Day one of three in Istanbul before going to Akbuk for two weeks and I hardly moved. The heat and humidity exacerbated by living in the attic meant that making a cup of tea was a major achievement, along with unpacking. Weird to be here on campus when so very few others are around, and totally normal to be at, what is after all, 'home'.  As always, after being 'home',  I have mixed feelings about that.  My bro started his new job today and I wish I was there to talk to him about how it went.  Elizabeth, and to a lesser extent Caroline, followed me around all day as I limped from space to space around the flat (unpacking and associated chores after five weeks away) mewing or pawing for cuddles, and always, but always, after a period of separation, no more than six feet away from me.  Don't listen to anyone who says that cats aren't affectionate or attached to their people. Haven't told them yet that I am off again in 72 hours....

Mono Monday theme of 'electric' was a bit of a gift for me (thanks to the aphid, hosting) as I only had to walk out on to the landing for this shot. When you live in a listed wooden building built in or around 1840 in a country where "that'll do" is the normal approach to all things electrical, the result is a variety of wiring anomalies.  I walk past this spaghetti junction of  "well, it works doesn't it?"' on the way to my front door and have often thought about blipping it - so today was the day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.