Farewell

Farewell to Pembrokeshire and friends.  

Big burly taxi driver, Steve, picked me up EARLY for the thirty mile trip to the train.  Full of fascinating stories, had me fully engaged 'though I'm not much of a morning person.

He kept his best for last, sitting outside Haverfordwest station in the teeming rain.  He confessed that he'd had a nervous breakdown, lost his faith, recovered his health and his faith.  Was so delighted he prayed to God in gratitude "Just use me, use me as you like."  

He'd always been a joker.  One day he was teasing a slight young woman he was driving for an early appointment at the hospital.  "Hope it's nothing too serious" as she got out.  "It's the baby see, lost the last one" "Oh, I"m sorry I didn't see,. should not have been joking"  "It's OK, it's OK.  Laughing with you is a real tonic, makes me forget about all the worry and stress."  She kissed him on his cheek.  As he drove off it hit him.  That was his gift, his job in life.  God wanted him to cheer people up.  

He's very good at it.  Earned another kiss.  I wonder how many he gets in a day.  

I slept six of the twelve hours journey home.  Storming as when I left a week before.  Felt like I'd been gone a month or more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.