Left to rot

I am fascinated by houses which appear to be left to rot particularly those which sit in otherwise well tended streets or neighbourhoods.

I am blipped a number of these over the years and I have had my eye on this one for a while.   It is on the High Rd in Sandbank,  the main road into Dunoon, and over the past couple of years the garden has run wild (it is now not possible even to glimpse the house from the completely overgrown front gate) and the windows have, one by one, been smashed.  There is grass growing in all the gutters and I suspect eventually the roof will collapse.  

It seems such a shame, given the shortage of housing that exists and also given the lovely house this once was.   I was brought up in a red sandstone villa just like it .

When  I see such buildings I always wonder what the story is of the  difficulties for the owners or occupiers which has somehow lead to this sad state. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.