Arachne

By Arachne

Ring of fire

This is my contribution to the week's word. I expect when hot was chosen, the idea was that the weather (at least in the northern hemisphere) might be relevant. Huh! So I decided to confront the weather and see if I could keep candles alight in the rain. It was easier than I expected - a much bigger problem was protecting the camera from getting wet.

It's dedicated to my lovely iron-willed daughter. When I told her, aged two-and-a-bit, not to put her finger in a candle flame because it would hurt she just frowned at me. I tried to explain; she reached for the flame again. I told her again that it would hurt; she reached out once more. I told her a few more times. Then she put her finger in the candle flame. It hurt. She wasn't upset or cross - she just looked at me wide-eyed and understood.

Sadly it didn't make her any more likely to accept what I tell her about life and the universe. She's still lovely though, and now she tells me about life and the universe.

I haven't asked her permission to post this anecdote, so if it disappears it's that iron will over-ruling mine. Again.

PS I now have permission.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.