Hoover R.B. Longtail

Dear Diary,

This is Philomena's arch adversary in the Seed Wars, Hoover R.B. Longtail.  The R.B. stands of Red Bottom because of his, well, red bottom!  I have never seen a chipmunk with such length to his tail so he is easily recognized.  He is not as comfortable with my presence as Philly is so I had to secretly photograph him from the window.  He is keeping an eye on the seed bowl from his look out perched on the planter.

When Hoover and Philomena meet at the seed bowl a frantic chase is on; around and around the garden until Hoover finally capitulates.  Philomena is a much larger chipmunk and usually wins these confrontations.  That's why I put out two seed bowls so they both have access to seeds.  Hoover seems to prefer the teacup but they take turns at both.

A friend once asked me if I ever get bored so far from the excitement of the city but I only chuckle.  Every day tiny dramas are happening a few feet from my door and I find it quite entertaining.  My old friend Karen arrives today and we will be off on our own adventure tomorrow.  Hoover and Philly will be on their own for a couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.